Night of Honors

Capri Salaam, a social studies teacher at North Little Rock Middle School - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus, is the 2022 North Little Rock School District Teacher of the Year.  Salaam will represent the district on the state level as she will vie to become Arkansas Teacher of the Year.

Salaam has been with the district since 2015.  

The surprise announcement was unveiled at the 2022 Night of Honors, which is the district's signature event to recognize the Building-Level Teachers of the Year and the Classified Employees of the Year.  The Night of Honors took place at The Venue at Westwind.  

The district also unveiled this year's level winners.  Amanda Garlington, a fourth grade teacher at Lakewood, is this year's Elementary School Level Teacher of the Year.  Tellisha Brown, a seventh grade science teacher at NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus, is the Middle School Level Teacher of the Year.  Cassie Rogers, a mathematics teacher at North Little Rock High School, is the High School Level Teacher of the Year.  

Ebony Mitchell served as this year's emcee.  Mitchell reigns at Miss Arkansas Runner Up.  Various student groups from the middle and high school served on the program. 

The district also paid a solemn tribute to Dr. Scot A. Tyler Sr., who served as the district's Transportation Director.  Tyler passed unexpectedly in January.  The Transportation Employee of the Year Award has been renamed The Dr. Scot A. Tyler Sr. Transportation of the Year Award.

2022 Honorees 

The majority of the funds to support the Night of Honors comes from local businesses and organizations.  Those businesses and organizations were recognized at the event and were presented with a memento to commemorate the special night and their support of the grand event. 

Prior to the event, honorees were invited to The Mocktail Hour.  They were treated to light hors d'oeuvres and met with Dr. Gregory J. Pilewski, the Superintendent of Schools, and Dr. Torrye Hooper, the Deputy Superintendent. In addition, our Platinum Sponsors, those who donated $3,000 to this initiative, also attended The Mocktail Hour.   

Click on this link to see pictures from the 2022 Night of Honors