DYSLEXIA SERVICES

dyslexia

“Dyslexia is a specific learning disability that is neurobiological in origin. It is characterized by difficulties with accurate and/or fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities. These difficulties typically result from a deficit in the phonological component of language that is often unexpected in relation to other cognitive abilities and the provision of effective classroom instruction. Secondary consequences may include problems in reading comprehension and reduced reading experience that can impede growth of vocabulary and background knowledge.”

IDA Board of Directors, Nov. 12, 2002  

   https://dyslexiaida.org/definition-of-dyslexia/

We have 29 Dyslexia Interventionists and 2 Dyslexia Specialists serving K-12 students. 

  • Thirteen interventionists are going through the Wilson Reading System Level 1 Practicum this school year, which is a year-long, intense training for certification. Eleven interventionists have already completed the year-long Level 1 Practicum. Twenty four interventionists will be certified in the Level 1 Practicum by the end of this school year.

  • The expectation is to train more interventionists in the near future.

  • The North Little Rock School District has purchased over $69,500.00 of materials and training for dyslexia interventionists and students with characteristics of dyslexia for the 2021-2022 school year. Last school year, the district spent more than $25,000. Overall, the North Little Rock School District has spent $94,500 in training and materials for the Wilson Reading System.

  • Wilson Reading System aligns with the core curriculum being implemented for K-8.

  • Interventionists are collaborating together to create lessons, and to provide interventions with fidelity whether students are at school or virtual. 

Wilson Reading System

The Wilson Reading System is a structured literacy program based on phonological-coding research and Orton-Gillingham principles. Wilson Reading System directly and systematically teaches the structure of the English Language. The Wilson Reading System aligns with guidelines from the International Dyslexia Association, which recommends that students with dyslexia receive:

  • Explicit, direct, cumulative, intensive, and focused instruction on the structure of language;

  • Multisensory learning using visual, auditory, and kinesthetic-tactile pathways to enhance memory and learning of written language; and

  • Consistent links made between the visual, auditory, and kinesthetic-tactile pathways in learning to read and spell. (International Dyslexia Association, 2008)

CONTACT INFORMATION

Gretchen McCoy
Dyslexia Specialist
(501) 771-8098
mccoyg@nlrsd.org

Amanda Powell
Dyslexia Specialist

(501) 771-8163
powell@nlrsd.org

Scroll down to see the names and email addresses of each Dyslexia Interventionist at each campus.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:

Campus

Interventionist's Name

Email Address

Amboy

Leslie Stacy

stacyl@nlrsd.org

Amboy

Stefanie Arnold

arnoldst@nlrsd.org

Boone Park

Donnie Skinner

skinnera@nlrsd.org

Boone Park

Shelly Smith

smithshel@nlrsd.org

Crestwood

Tammy Roberts

robertst@nlrsd.org

Crestwood

Taylor Thompson

thompsont@nlrsd.org

Glenview

Shari Runnells

runnellss@nlrsd.org

Indian Hills

Krystal Heaser

heaserk@nlrsd.org

Indian Hills

Emily Wyant

wyante@nlrsd.org

Lakewood 

Madelyn Casto

castom@nlrsd.org

Lakewood 

Amanda Garlington

garlingtona@nlrsd.org

Meadow Park 

Jennifer Coleman

colemanj@nlrsd.org

Meadow Park 

Ashley Eaton

eatona@nlrsd.org

North Little Rock Academy 

Crystal Porter

portercr@nlrsd.org

North Little Rock High School/ Center of Excellence

Patricia Boyd

boydp@nlrsd.org

North Little Rock High School/ Center of Excellence

Grace Horton

hortona@nlrsd.org

North Little Rock High School/ Center of Excellence

Christy Williams

williamsc@nlrsd.org

NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus

Shelby Eoff

eoffs@nlrsd.org

NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus

Brandi Kemp

kempb@nlrsd.org

NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus

Brittany Martin

martinb@nlrsd.org

NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus

Ashia Mills

millsa@nlrsd.org

NLRMS - Sixth Grade Campus

Kara Dillie

dilliek@nlrsd.org

NLRMS - Sixth Grade Campus

Cathy Lay

layc@nlrsd.org

NLRMS - Sixth Grade Campus

Abby Nichols

nicholsa@nlrsd.org

Ridge Road

Michelle Baggett

baggettm@nlrsd.org

Ridge Road

Deedra Lee

leed@nlrsd.org

Seventh Street/North Little Rock Academy

Courtney Bowie

bowiec@nlrsd.org

Virtual Academy

Melissa Maxson

maxsonm@nlrsd.org

dyslexia