DYSLEXIA SERVICES

We have 27 Dyslexia Interventionists and 2 Dyslexia Specialists serving K-12 students. 

  • Thirteen interventionists are going through the Wilson Reading System Level 1 Practicum this school year, which is a year-long, intense training for certification. Eleven interventionists have already completed the year-long Level 1 Practicum. Twenty four interventionists will be certified in the Level 1 Practicum by the end of this school year.

  • The expectation is to train more interventionists in the near future.

  • The North Little Rock School District has purchased over $69,500.00 of materials and training for dyslexia interventionists and students with characteristics of dyslexia for the 21-22 school year. Last school year, the district spent more than $25,000. Overall, the North Little Rock School District has spent $94,500 in training and materials for the Wilson Reading System.

  • Wilson Reading System aligns with the core curriculum being implemented for K-8.

  • Interventionists are collaborating together to create lessons, and to provide interventions with fidelity whether students are at school or virtual. 

*Act 1039 of Reporting by the School District Information

Wilson Reading System

Wilson Reading System is a structured literacy program based on phonological-coding research and Orton-Gillingham principles. Wilson Reading System directly and systematically teaches the structure of the English Language. The Wilson Reading System aligns with guidelines from the International Dyslexia Association, which recommends that students with dyslexia receive:

  • Explicit, direct, cumulative, intensive, and focused instruction on the structure of language;

  • Multisensory learning using visual, auditory, and kinesthetic-tactile pathways to enhance memory and learning of written language; and

  • Consistent links made between the visual, auditory, and kinesthetic-tactile pathways in learning to read and spell. (International Dyslexia Association, 2008)

Dyslexia Specialists in the North Little Rock School District
(They are housed at Central Office.)

Gretchen McCoy

Amanda Powell

mccoyg@nlrsd.org

powella@nlrsd.org

Dyslexia Interventionists in the North Little Rock School District

School

Amboy

Amboy

Boone Park

Boone Park

Crestwood

Crestwood

Glenview

Glenview

Indian Hills

Indian Hills

Lakewood 

Lakewood 

Meadow Park 

Meadow Park 

North Little Rock Academy 

North Little Rock High School/ Center of Excellence

North Little Rock High School/ Center of Excellence

North Little Rock High School/ Center of Excellence

NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus

NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus

NLRMS - Seventh & Eighth Grade Campus

NLRMS - Sixth Grade Campus

NLRMS - Sixth Grade Campus

Ridge Road

Ridge Road

Seventh Street

Seventh Street

Interventionist's Name

Leslie Stacy

Stefanie Arnold

Donnie Skinner

Shelly Smith

Tammy Roberts

Taylor Thompson

Jennifer Fletcher

Shari Runnells

Harriet Pool

Emily Stadther

Sandra Bryant

Madelyn Casto

Jennifer Coleman

Ashley Eaton

Ashley Ward

Joan Holbert

Christine Williams

Dorothy Sharpe

Patricia Boyd

Brandi Kemp

Brittany Martin

Kara Dillie

Abby Nichols

Michelle Baggett

Deedra Lee

Courtney Bowie

Pam Hart-Strassle

Email Address

stacyl@nlrsd.org

arnoldst@nlrsd.org

skinnera@nlrsd.org

smithshel@nlrsd.org

robertst@nlrsd.org

thompsont@nlrsd.org

fletcherj@nlrsd.org

runnellss@nlrsd.org

poolh@nlrsd.org

stadthere@nlrsd.org

bryants@nlrsd.org

castom@nlrsd.org

colemanj@nlrsd.org

eatona@nlrsd.org

warda@nlrsd.org

holbertj@nlrsd.org

williamsc@nlrsd.org

sharped@nlrsd.org

boydp@nlrsd.org

kempb@nlrsd.org

martinb@nlrsd.org

dilliek@nlrsd.org

nicholsa@nlrsd.org

baggettm@nlrsd.org

leed@nlrsd.org

bowiec@nlrsd.org

strasslep@nlrsd.org

Dyslexia information