Night of Honors

Karen Moss-Newburn, a gifted and talented teacher at Ridge Road Elementary School, is the 2023 NLRSD Teacher of the Year.  

The surprise announcement was made at the 2023 Night of Honors, which is the district's signature event to recognize Building-Level Teachers of the Year and Classified Employees of the Year.  

Moss-Newburn will represent the district as she applies to become Arkansas Teacher of the Year.   The North Little Rock School District has been fortunate to have had eight of its teachers become Arkansas Teacher of the Year, including Capri Bell-Salaam, who will begin her tenure on July 1, 2023.  

The Night of Honors takes place because of the generosity of sponsors.  The Steering Committee paid tribute to the slate of sponsors, which include local businesses, organizations, and schools.  The committee gave a special recognition to the Bobby Gosser family, who has pledged $50,000 over a 10-year period toward the Night of Honors.  In addition, the Teacher of the Year received a $1,000 check from the family.  To commemorate this contribution, the award has been renamed in honor of the Bobby Gosser Family.  

This year's level winners include the following:

  • Elementary School Teacher of the Year:  Lydia Robinson, a second grade teacher at Meadow Park Elementary School
  • Middle School Teacher of the Year:  Elizabeth Roberts, a social studies teacher at NLRMS - Seventh &  Eighth Grade Campus
  • High School Teacher of the Year: Cynthia Bell, an English teacher at North Little Rock High School

Prior to the Night of Honors, the honorees and platinum-level sponsors joined Dr. Gregory J. Pilewski, Superintendent of the North Little Rock School District, and Dr. Torrye Hooper, Deputy Superintendent of the North Little Rock School District, at the Mocktail Hour, which is an opportunity for everyone to mix and mingle over light refreshments.  The Arkansas Symphony Orchestra provided the music. 

The Night of Honors takes place in April.