School Board

The North Little Rock Board of Education received the 2022 School Board of Excellence in Leadership Award Friday morning at the Arkansas School Boards Association Annual Conference, which took place this week at the Statehouse Convention Center.  This award is presented to school boards that have demonstrated superior dedication and ethical service all while making a positive impact on the students in their district.

The North Little Rock Board of Education consists of the following members:  Mrs. Valerie McLean, Zone 6; Ms. Angela Person-West, Zone 4; Dr. Rochelle Redus, Zone 3; Mr. Tracy Steele, Zone 2; Mrs. Cindy Temple, Zone 5; Mrs. Natalie Wankum, Zone 7; and Mrs. Dorothy Williams, Zone 1. 

In order to receive this coveted recognition, school boards must have documented evidence in each of the following eight criteria:

  • Focuses on and demonstrates support for student achievement 
  • Supports educational improvement projects 
  • Demonstrates commitment to a code of ethics 
  • Maintains harmonious and supportive relationships among members of the board and with the superintendent 
  • Functions as a policy-making body with adherence to adopted policies 
  • Provides oversight for district finances and budget that support continuous improvement by making decisions and taking actions that are consistent with the district’s strategic plan (vision, mission, and goals) and policies
  • Participates in training, workshops, and other performance improvement programs 
  • Supports and participates in relations efforts, including community awareness  

“I am so proud of our board for earning this recognition,” said Dr. Rochelle Redus, Zone 3 Member and Board President.  “We are committed to excellence as we work to ensure that our students reach their full potential and our staff is fully supported.  We also value our partnership with our leader, Dr. Pilewski, and the administrative team in place who are dedicated in moving this district forward.”

Dr. Gregory Pilewski, the Superintendent of the North Little Rock School District, nominated the board for this award.

“I consider it and honor and a privilege to work with our Board of Education as we transform this district.  Our community should be ecstatic in the high honor that this board has received, for it is proof that we are student-focused and truly dedicated to the work of making sure our 8,245 students are future ready.” 

In addition to this recognition, Ms. Angela Person-West, who represents Zone 4, earned the title Master Board Member for earning at least 50 hours of board development training. 

North Little Rock School District students played a role at the ASBA Annual Conference.  JROTC cadets presented the colors, and the Jazz Band provided Christmas music.